Apples All Around

FidlerJan(MorgueFile)

Yesterday, I read a blog by John Mosley, called I an an Apple Lover, and though I have yet to try his apple dip recipe, I wanted to piggy back off his idea with something of my own. This recipe is so simple, yet so tasty and festive. It’s apple sauce with apple pie spice (or even pumpkin pie spice- something I accidentally discovered last night) heated up in the microwave.

Tasting this brought me back to my childhood. Every single fall, I would go with my family to go apple picking. There’s nothing quite as satisfying as the crunch into an apple, followed by that sweet taste in your mouth. As a child, the juice always dribbled down my shirt, because my motor skills needed work. After apple picking, we would go on a hay ride around whatever farm we were at.

Back to the simple recipe: I heated up some apple sauce in the microwave for about a minute, or a minute and a half, and then added some apple spice. This makes ordinary Meijer brand apple sauce taste like the homemade kind grandma used to make. Yesterday night, however, I wasn’t paying attention to which spice jar I grabbed, and when it was too late, I realized it was pumpkin spice. Call me oblivious, but I didn’t really notice a difference. They both tasted delicious! The pumpkin spice increased my courage to try pumpkin pie. Cue the gasps and disbelief: I never tried pumpkin pie in my life! If anyone knows of any good pumpkin pie recipes, please let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

